Home > Accommodation > Reviews

Have previous guests enjoyed their stay at Annie's Guest House in South Shields ?

Here you can read our collected online reviews and guest feedback...

  • Stayed for weekend, very pleasant, clean, very friendly 10/10 for a full English breakfast. Well done June lovely lady. Would stay again.

    - Feedback from four guests who occupied our standard twin bedroom and an en suite double bedroom, attending an 18th birthday party in Hebburn.

  • 5*

  • A lovely stay in a clean and well maintained place so close to the sea and the famous Ocean Road stretch of restaurants. June was so welcoming and her breakfasts were to die for - she even got me some special Vegan sausages! Highly recommended!

    - Guest feedback from a Vegan and gluten-free mother and daughter after a stay in one of our en suite twin bedrooms before joining the Balmoral cruise ship for a 14 night 'Wonders of Spitsbergen' Norwegian cruise.

  • Very friendly and lovely place to stay at Annie's Guest House.

    - Guest feedback after a two night stay in one of our en suite triple bedrooms whilst visiting Mouth of The Tyne Festival.

  • 5* Great value hotel with fast wifi. I really liked how the breakfast was made fresh. Will be making another booking soon.

  • 5* Great stay, close to beach and town. Short journey to Newcastle Central. I'll be back again next month.

    - Online review after a six night stay with us.

  • 8.3/10 Very good.

    Beds with memory foam super comfy, breakfast substantial.

  • We've had a lovely stay here. A warm welcome, delicious vegetarian breakfast and great facilities!

    - Feedback from two Belgian cyclists who stayed with us for two nights before catching the DFDS ferry to IJmuiden.

  • Spotlessly clean, freshly cooked food, extremely helpful. Our favourite B&B of our C2C trip!

    - Feedback from three guests who stayed with us before and after completing the C2C cycle route.

  • 5/5 Brilliant B&B.

    Stayed for one night after watching the South Shields parade. Nice and clean with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Rooms are spacious with memory foam beds and a flat screen tv. Staff were lovely and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Absolutely 1st class. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Lovely and friendly. 10/10

    - Guest feedback from a family of four who stayed in our standard quadruple room.

  • 10/10 Service with a smile.

    Superb value for money, fast wifi.

  • Room 6. Very nice/comfortable room, friendly service, enjoyable stay.

    - Feedback from a repeat guest who stayed with us after completing the C2C cycle route.

  • 10/10 A great place to stay in South Shields.

    Personal friendly service.

  • Thanks very much for a perfect stay. Everything spotless comfortable beds and perfect breakfast. Best wishes.

    - Guest feedback after a two night stay whilst visiting Beamish Museum.

  • 8.8/10 Excellent value for money.

    Comfortable, clean and friendly.

    - Online review after a one night stay in our standard twin bedroom whilst working at a local school.

  • 5* You Can See the Sea and the Breakfast is Good

    I've stayed at Annie's twice now and both times have been exceedingly comfortable in a first floor en-suite room (though the shower is a tad small). The house is owned by the daughter of the friendly and chatty women who does the welcoming and cooks the excellent breakfast. One advantage is a guest microwave, dishes and cutlery in the dining room so that you don't have to eat out in the evening all the time. There are also lots of tea and coffee supplies in the room along with biscuits. And there are supplied toiletries in the bathroom. The seagulls are noisy, but hey, they are Geordie seagulls. It's great to be able to get up and take a stroll down to the seafront and along the pier (but beware, the notice on the pier gate states that summer opening is 7:00am and it usually opens well after that time).

    Ask for en-suite, otherwise there is a shared bathroom.

  • 6.3/10 Breakfast was good. Staff was cordial.

    - Online review from a Sri Lankan guest who stayed with us for five nights whilst studying at South Tyneside College.

  • We have enjoyed our stay in this very friendly guest house. It was so useful to be able use a microwave in the evening - kept our costs down! Thank you.

  • 5* Enjoyed our stay here a lot. Welcoming, family-friendly and good value accommodation.

  • A lovely stay, all the staff very helpful, breakfast was very nice and all we requested and a prompt service, in all everything that we had chosen online.

    - Feedback from guests who stayed with us for two nights in one of our standard double bedrooms, attending a wedding at South Tyneside Registry Office.

  • 5*

  • Had a pleasant stay, Mrs June was very courteous & kind, made most of my days. Internet was as promised.

    - Feedback from a Sri Lankan guest who stayed with us for five nights whilst studying at South Tyneside College.

  • Most excellent B&B. Nice rooms, really good friendly staff.

    - Feedback after a one night stay in one of our standard double bedrooms before catching the DFDS ferry from the International Ferry Terminal in North Shields to Amsterdam.

  • Secure, nice beds, hot showers, clean, nice town. What more could you ask for ?

    - Feedback after a three night stay in one of our en suite double bedrooms, attending a wedding reception at Dunes on Sea Road - at the bottom of our street. .

  • I've had a great three week stay here, you have all made it very comfortable and warming for me. I will definitely stay here again if I am in South Shields again. Breakfast is yummy and I found everything nice & clean. Staff are all lovely too! Many thanks.

    - Feedback from a guest who stayed with us for three weeks whilst working at South Tyneside Hospital.

  • Thank you for a lovely stay. Thank you for letting us drop our bikes off early. The safe keeping of our bikes was great. Breakfast excellent. June has been very very helpful. Thanks.

    - Feedback from two cyclists who stayed in one of our en suite twin bedrooms before embarking upon the Coast & Castles cycle route up to Edinburgh (NCN Route 1).

  • Dear Annie. Many, many thanks for the wonderful stay. Everything was perfect. So homely. We would have no doubts in recommending to friends. Best wishes.

    - Feedback after a stay in one of our en suite double bedrooms before joining cruise ship the Balmoral for a ten night cruise from Port of Tyne.

  • Very pleasant stay so quiet, staff friendly, breakfast brilliant, very clean and tidy would recommmend to others and we will be back.

    - Feedback after a stay in one of our standard double bedrooms.

  • 9.2/10 Very hospitable and friendly.

    - Online review after a two night stay in one of our standard double bedrooms.

  • 10/10 Exceptional.

    - Online review after a two night stay in our standard twin bedroom.

  • A very clean, comfotable and friendly place at good prices. No complaints at all. Thank you I will recommend you to others.

    - Guest feedback after a stay in one of our standard single bedrooms.

  • A lovely stay, friendly & helpful. Great breakfast. Spacious room with good facilities. Definitely would stay here again.

    - Guest feedback after a two night stay in one of our en suite double bedrooms.

  • Comfortable accommodation, quality breakfast, delightful staff. Thanks very much!

    - Feedback from guests from New York, USA after a stay in one of our en suite twin bedrooms.

  • 5* 30/30. It was great to be offered veggie sausages for breakfast and my tired muscles loved the big bubbly bath.

    - Theatre Digs Booker guest review after a three night stay with us whilst performing at The Customs House theatre in South Shields.

  • Lovely guest house, friendly staff. Very clean with ample tea/coffee in the rooms. Good choice of hot & cold selection at breakfast & hot breakfast cooked to order & lovely & hot when served.

    - Guest feedback after a two night stay in our standard twin room.

  • 10/10 Exceptional. Good location and plenty of parking available and helpful staff.

    - Online review after a four night stay in one of our en suite double bedrooms.

  • Fandabbydosey!! Very welcoming friendly atmosphere. Clean, tidy and comfortable. Home away from home.

  • Staff very helpful. Excellent breakfast. Clean & tidy. Excellent value for money. Would stay again.

  • Comfortable room, beautifully presented, great value, I'd recommend Annie's any time and June is most welcoming and cooks a fine breakfast.

    - Guest feedback after a two night stay in one of our standard double bedrooms.

  • It was very nice to have veggie sausages and the bath is great after a heavy day.

    - Guest feedback after a three night stay whilst working/performing at The Customs House theatre in South Shields.

  • Loved staying here! Very clean, nothing was too much trouble and the food was always tasty. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Great value for money.

    - Guest feedback after an eight night stay with us.

  • 10/10 Annie's. Very satisfied with the stay.

  • 10/10 Fab B&B. Lovely and clean, great staff, breakfast cooked to order, flexible check-in hours.

  • 6.3/10 Unusually generous quantity of hot drinks supplies. Excellent wifi. Big wardrobe and decent sized table. The ladies worked very hard to cope with the bank holiday crush. I really liked the film posters on the walls, a refreshing change from usual B&B decor. Instead of having a key all the doors have number locks and each guest is given an individual code based on their phone number, which I think is a really good system.

  • 10/10 Exceptional. Only there for one night. Breakfast was cooked just right and no fat on the plate... just how I like it. Even though you are next to a road it was very quiet at night.

  • 10/10 Exceptional. Friendly staff and value for money with a cracking breakfast.

  • Thank you for a very enjoyable stay. Comfortable room, hot shower and big filling breakfast. Would come back again.

    - Guest feedback from two couples who stayed with us before joining their eleven night Fred Olsen Icelandic Wildlife, Falls & Hot Springs cruise on the Balmoral departing Port of Tyne.

  • Visited 'Annie's' twice now and never been disappointed. Beautifully kept and the breakfast is second to non. Jean is a friendly and helpful lady and a true assett to 'Annie's'. Also the cleaner and housekeeper is to be praised for her dedication to keeping 'Annie's' clean and fresh. Well done!

  • 4/5 Loved the breakfast.

    Stayed for 3 nights. Had an ensuite room that was clean and comfortable. Bed had a Tempur mattress which was very comfortable. The breakfast was cooked to order by June who was very attentive and friendly. What fantastic breakfast to start each day. Cereals were available and plenty of toast brought with the full English. The town centre and Metro are just a short walk away. If in the area again, I would book to stay again.

  • Only here for one night, would definitely come back. Good location for transport and very quiet at night to ensure a sound sleep. Place very clean and Annie does a good dry up and also helpful with advice getting around. Rooms have a kettle with tea/coffee so when you arrive you can make yourself a cuppa.

    - Feedback from a guest who stayed in one of our standard single bedrooms whilst visiting Sunderland.

  • Stayed one night for the England game vs. Australia in Sunderland. Great location, clean rooms and a fantastic breakfast. Would definitely stay again if I was in the area and June was lovely!

    - Feedback from guests visiting the Stadium of Light in Sunderland.

  • Fantastic stay. Very impressed with the decor, and the breakfast (black pudding!) Brilliant stay. Very happy to come again.

    - Guest feedback after staying in one of our standard single bedrooms.

  • Nice place! Will surely return!

    Amazing place to stay! The staff were very polite and professional, and with a free breakfast, it was the perfect start to the day. The best part was the memory foam mattress. When I travel, I usually end up with a sore back from regular mattresses, but not here.

  • 9.2/10 Superb. Very very friendly staff always there to help. Very comfy room.

    - Feedback from a German guest who stayed in one of our standard double bedrooms.

  • Thanks for a great stay. Really appreciated your assistance in sorting the wrong dates out on Booking.com. I'll give you a review online too.

    - Feedback from guests who stayed in one of our standard double bedrooms.

  • Really enjoyed my stay here, warm welcome, excellent, clean room. Bed was super comfy! Breakfast was outstanding. If we are viiting the area area this is where we are staying. Thanks for looking after us so well!

    - Feedback from guests who stayed for three nights in one of our en suite double bedrooms whilst visiting St James' Park in Newcastle upon Tyne.

  • Very clean premises, comfortable room and large bathroom. Very warm welcome and excellent breakfast.

    - Feedback from a couple from Paris, France who stayed with us for four nights.

  • A very comfy bed, nice room, excellent breakfast.

    - Feedback from five guests who stayed with us before embarking upon Hadrian's Cycleway.

  • 10/10 Exceptional.

    - Online review from an Australian guest who stayed in one of our en suite twin bedrooms for three nights.

  • 5*

  • Another great stay at Annie's B&B. See you next month. Many thanks.

    - Feedback from one of our regular guests.

  • 5*

  • Really enjoyed our stay, loved the area. The breakfast was outstanding - set us up for the day. Very friendly guest house will definitely recommend. Thank you.

    - Feedback from guests after a two night stay in one of our en suite double bedrooms whilst visiting Beamish Museum.

  • 5*

  • 5* Perfect, many thanks. Ok, recommended to all, A ++++++++++ Excellent A++++++++++++

  • 5* Very enjoyable stay, clean and friendly staff, would recommend will be back again 5*

    - Review from a guest who stayed with us whilst studying at South Tyneside College.

  • Very enjoyable stay thanks no complaints. Room was clean and breakfast was good and staff friendly.

    - Guest feedback after a four night stay in one of our standard single bedrooms.

  • Room 2. Lovely clean, comfortable room and good breakfasts. Couldn't ask for better! Will be back next time I'm in Shields.

    - Guest feedback after a four night stay in our standard quadruple room.

  • Lovely stay enjoyed every minute very clean and tidy. Food excellent. The lady looking after us was lovely. ****

    - Guest feedback after a four night stay with us.

  • Stayed for four weeks. Best B&B I've stayed in by far. Couldn't recommend enough.

    - Guest feedback from a guest who stayed with us for a month whilst working in Sunderland.

  • I've stayed in many but Annie's is the best guest house I have stayed for a very long time.

    - Guest feedback after a four night stay in one of our en suite twin bedrooms.

  • Lovely stay at Annie's Guest House. A well looked after and welcoming place. June was great and cooked one of the best breakfasts I have ever had.

    - Feedback from a family of three who stayed with us to attend their son's graduation ceremony at South Tyneside College.

  • Good food, comfy bed, nice room, will be back. Thank you!!!

    - Feedback after a three night stay in one of our standard double bedrooms.

  • 5* We really enjoyed our stay here. It was very clean, quiet and all of our needs were met. I'd definitely recommendanyone to this spot and we will be using this place whenever we are in the area!

  • 10/10 pleasant stay in South Shields

    - Online review from a guest who stayed in one of our standard single bedrooms for two nights.

  • Lovely stay, perfect for work. Very cost effective, very friendly, very efficient, very comfortable. Would happily recommend.

    - Feedback from a guest who stayed in one of our standard single bedrooms for five nights.

  • Dear Annie's. Thank you so much for taking care of me during my six week stay. I have been very happy with the cleanliness, food and breakfast and your effort in making my stay a very pleasant time. Kind regards.

    - Feedback from a guest from Denmark who stayed with us for six weeks whilst studying and taking exams at South Tyneside College's Marine School.

  • 5* Fully satisfied with your service, keep improving. Thanks.

  • 5/5. Myself, husband and 2 children have just stayed at annies guest house for a 3 night break and couldn't fault anything. Staff very welcoming, very clean and comfortable room and breakfast was lovely. All the little added extras are lovely cannot rate this bed and breakfast high enough. Will definately come back again.

    - Online review from a family of four who stayed in our standard quad room for three nights.

  • Good value for money. Very friendly. And in a good place to local food places.

    - Guest feedback after a three night stay in one of our en suite bedrooms whilst attending a course at South Tyneside College's Marine Safety Centre.

  • Really enjoyed our little family break. Staff very welcoming, the room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was lovely. Would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

    - Feedback from a family of four who stayed in our standard quad room for three nights.

  • 10/10 Couldn't find fault anywhere absolutely brilliant spotlessly clean everywhere couldn't recommend this place enough and anyone who knows me will know it must be good.

    - Online review left for us after a four night stay in one of our standard single bedrooms.

  • Had a great stay! Thank you! Bed was very comfy and breakfast was very good. Everyone was very friendly. Thanks again, I enjoyed my wee break!

    - Feedback from a guest from Scotland who stayed with us for two nights.

  • It's a nice place. The service and people are really very good. Next it I will be coming definitely I will be coming here.

  • Really lovely guest house. Clean, comfortable rooms and lovely reception. On arrival I was greeted with a smile and staff were very friendly.

    - Feedback from a guest who stayed with us for five nights whilst taking exams at South Tyneside College's Marine School.

  • Can't fault it! Thank you!

    - Feedback from a vet who stayed with us for three nights whilst working in Harton Nook aka The Nook in South Shields, five minutes drive from us.

  • It was very nice to stay here. The room was nice too and the food was too.

    - Feedback from guests who occupied one of our en suite double bedrooms.

  • My stay was very pleasant with friendly staff, clean rooms and lovely breakfast.

    - Feedback after a three night stay in one of our standard single bedrooms.

  • 5* Enjoyed my stay here, best in the area and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed for three nights. Breakfast excellent with very good choice. Accommodation very clean & tidy. Room warm and comfortable bed.

    - Feedback after a three night stay with us over Easter 2016 in one of our standard double bedrooms.

  • Exactly what is expected from North East people - warm, welcoming and wonderful. Thank you June for our short but pleasant stay. I have your guest house number in my phone and the next time I'm back your's is the first place to call. Regards.

    - Feedback from guests who occupied our standard twin bedroom.

  • 5*

  • Very clean, very comfortable, very friendly, would recommend this guest house to anyone, very impressed at value for money.

    - Feedback from three guests who occupied our standard quadruple room before departing on holiday to Ireland via Newcastle Airport.

  • It was a great staying. Good service, very clean and a proper breakfast highly recommended for those, like me, is cycling along Hadrian's route. Thanks.

    - Feedback from an Italian guest who stayed with us before starting Hadrian's Cycleway aka National Cycle Route #27.

  • I would recommend this guest house to anyone. The accommodation, meals and hospitality are excellent. Beautiful rooms, excellent decoration. Should I pass this way again I wouls stay here. Thank you.

    - Feedback from four cyclists who stayed with us in two en suite twin bedrooms.

  • Lovely staff. Good atmosphere & room.

    - Feedback from a guest who stayed with us whilst visiting the Nissan car factory in Sunderland.

  • Had a lovely stay. I've been working up here for seven days and coming back to a clean comfy room, very nice breakfast & friendly people.

    - Feedback from two guests who occupied our standard twin bedroom for seven nights whilst working at Tyne Dock / Port of Tyne.

  • Our Trip Advisor Green Leaders Gold award certificate for 2016.

  • 5* A fab place to escape from the hectic life style in London.

  • Many thanks. Clean & comfortable - good food.

    - Feedback after a stay in one of our standard double bedrooms.

  • 5* Great job thank you I sure enjoyed my stay here I highly recommend it.

  • 10/10 Exceptional. Good value & location & comfort of bed.

  • The guest house has all the facilities that you could need. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfy. Great choice of food for breakfast and tasted lovely. Had a great stay and will be coming back again!!

    - Feedback after a stay in one of our en suite double bedrooms.

  • Very nice & clean. Excellent breakfast. Friendly & efficient people.

    - Feedback after a two night stay in our standard quad room.

  • Very pleasant, clean and staff are really friendly. If ever in South Shields again will happily return here. Great choices for breakfast. Thank you. 10/10

    - Feedback from a family of three who stayed in our standard quad room.

  • Very warm, comfy room, a lovely stay & lovely breakfast. Thank you. We will be back.

    - Feedback from a group of guests who stayed with us whilst attending South Tyneside Magic Festival 2016.

  • 5* Very good.

  • 5*

  • What a lovely place to stay!! Lovely comfy beds, beautiful cooked breakfast and nice hospitality. We'll be back!! Thank you. Couldn't believe how well stocked the tea, coffee etc.

    - Feedback from a family who stayed in one of our en suite triple bedrooms, visiting to see Wet Wet Wet at the Metro Radio Arena in Newcastle upon Tyne.

  • 8.3/10 Very good. Very nice B&B.

  • Excellent value. Everything provided. Bed comfy. Room warm & cosy. Friendly welcome & very helpful good local advice provided. Smashing breakfast & very generous portions.

    - Feedback from a family who stayed in one of our en suite triple bedrooms.

  • Really quiet in the day which was brilliant with me working nights. The beds are really comfy too. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    - Feedback from night shift workers who stayed in our standard twin bedroom for a week whilst working in Tynemouth.

  • Very pleasant and clean place to stay. Thanks.

    - Feedback from a Bulgarian guest who stayed with us for three nights.

  • Thank you card we received from a family who stayed four night in two rooms.

  • Stay was lovely thanks nice people, quiet B&B and good clean room & service. Thanks for the birthday card as well nice touch. If we come back this way again would use again.

    - Feedback after a four night stay in one of our en suite double bedrooms whilst celebrating a 50th birthday.

  • Room 2. Thank you for helping us to enjoy our weekend away in South Shields. We have found the room very comfortable and the breakfasts delicious. Special thanks to the lady who cooked our breakfasts. Good customer service.

    - Feedback after a three night stay in our standard quad room.

  • 9.1/10 2015 online review award.

  • I found everything very clean and satisfactory. Good value for money. Thank you.

    - Feedback from a guest from Sweden who stayed with us for four nights.

  • Very comfortable stay, room facilities first class and value for money. Breakfast sets you up for the day. With thanks.

    - Feedback after a stay in one of our en suite twin bedrooms.

  • Great stay - really comfortable and the breakfast and coffee was spot on. Would stay again.

  • Very clean and had a comfortable stay will recommend this guest house. Good friendly staff and 10/10 for bed/breakfast service. Will be back again. Thank you.

  • Every time I have work in the North East Annie's Guest House is my first point of call, clean, tidy and tasty breakfast! Last stay was for five months. Would definitely recommend.
    * * * * * !

  • Thank you for everything. Lovely people, warm, friendly and welcoming. Choices of breakfast was whatever you wanted (made a fab full English!)

    Our room was always clean and fresh towels etc. every day & tea & coffee in the room & replenished. Beds were very comfortable. I will recommend your B&B to everyone. Thanks again. Room 4.

    - Feedback from a family of five who stayed with us for three nights.

  • Enjoyed it alot, very friendly staff and great value for money. I would recommend it to anyone. Thanks alot.

    - Feedback after a five night stay with us.

  • We really enjoyed our stay here the beds were comfy and everywhere was clean. We were looked after very well by June and the breakfast was delicious. The only downfall we had was Man Utd lost to Sunderland. Thank you very much will definitely come again Ann & Phil. Nice name for guest house.

    - Feedback after a two night stay in one of our en suite double bedrooms.

  • We were four students travelling over the weekend in Newcastle. Annie's Guest House is conveniently located just 30 minutes away (by Metro) from Newcastle City Centre at near South Shields Metro Station. They were fast in responding to our enquiries during the booking process and the place was cosy, as shown in the pictures. Linda welcomed us to the place and made us felt right at home with her enthusiasm and helpfulness. The accommodation can easily be identified and was within walking distance to the beach, supermarket as well as South Shields Metro Station. The complimentary drinks provided in the room itself was awesome and there's even towels for us to use. The breakfast we had the next morning was great as the lady who greeted us was making sure that all our requests were taken care of. I have unofficially concluded that this is one of the most welcoming places that I have been to. Just one night here seem to be too short for the beautiful place with amazing people. Will definitely come back here again.

  • 5/5 Lovely Guest House. My two friends from Australia and Canada were visiting me and my fiancé for the weekend so we booked the quad room at Annie's Guest House. We weren't too sure how good it would be as the guest house isn't on Ocean Road which is where there are a lot of b&bs (but they are more expensive).

    The guest house is very close to Marine Park, the sea front, fair etc. and easy to get to via metro or bus. We managed to get an early check in for 11am. When we arrived, a lady greeted us at the door and took us up to our room which was on the top floor. I don't think this lady was the owner, I think she just worked there. She was very sweet. She showed us how to work everything in our room and gave us a lot of information. She definitely made us feel welcome.

    Our room had a double bed and two singles. The beds were very comfortable as they had memory foam mattresses. In the room we also had a TV, wardrobe, hairdryer, ironing board, iron, towels, sink, mirror, kettle, selection of teas, coffee and biscuits. We were surprised at how much there was in the room as we were only expecting the beds. The room was only £65 pound, so shared amongst the four of us it was very cheap.

    We were a little worried about having to use a shared bathroom as we hadn't done this before as only really stayed in hotels. However, there was nothing to worry about. There were 2 toilet cubicles with sinks in each and which were very spacious. They were decorated lovely and very clean. The bathroom was my favourite part. They have a big shower which is lovely and very clean and also a lovely bath tub. We found the entire guest house very clean.

    My fiancé and one of my friends went down for breakfast at around 9am (me and my other friend weren't hungry). The breakfast was included in the price of the room and from what I hear, it was delicious. They got offered a selection of cereals and drinks whilst their breakfast was being cooked. They then had a full English breakfast which everything on. There was only a choice of jams and chocolate spread with the meal. I now regret not going for breakfast. They ate their breakfast in the dining room on the ground floor. This was a small room with three tables but very cute, clean and well decorated. They also had 2 TVs on the wall to watch whilst eating breakfast. Once again, the lady that took us to our room was the one who made the breakfast and chatted away to us. She was very friendly.

    I would definitely recommend this Guest House to everyone. I think many people might overlook this because it isn't on the Main Street. However, it is cheaper, nicer and still close to everything!

  • First class service. No complaints. Thank you.

  • 8.2/10. Superb. (The hotel staff were very warm, good breakfast, warm and comfortable. Walking distance to the beach.)

  • Lovely homely B&B! Couldn't want for anything!

  • 8.8/10 Fabulous. Had a good time would stay there again.

  • 5/5. Very good, enjoyed my stay here. The two of us were ‘upgraded’ to a family room (room two) with a double bed and two singles fit for four guests. It wasn't much of an upgrade as there's only so many beds one can sleep on, and (as a result of the upgrade?) there was limited place to put our bags. Good. Nice personal touch from the owner, Annie. I called on day of check in to request a change in check in time outside of the hours as prescribed online, didn't have any issues. All guests have breakfast provided. It's very good, with orange juice, tea, coffee, a large choice of cereals (free flow), toast, and a freshly cooked English breakfast (you can customise if to your preference, just ask!). Delicious! The room had some awesome Scottish cookies and bourbons on a tray very nice. Also came with some instant hot chocolate and coffee. These supplies (including the biscuits) were automatically replenished the next day wonderful! Password-based entry system to both the building and room meant that there were no keys to lose. All these come at a very good price, if you book directly from their website, and not through another agent (eg Booking.com or Expedia). It cost me just £40/night for two people. The not-so-good. If you choose a non-ensuite room as I did, be aware that the bathroom is downstairs. The more quietly you tiptoe down the stairs at night, the louder the steps seem to creak! Sound proofing between the walls isn't very good either, and occasional loud banging from neighbouring guests could be startling. Doesn't seem to have air conditioning. Not a problem for us on a cool September weekend, but I imagine that it might get hot in summer months. Location. If you're coming from the Metro, especially with large and heavy bags, the walk here can get difficult with undulating roads and steep pavements. Although having said that, bathroom will be on another level.

  • This is the first time we have stayed here. We have had a lovely stay. Everything was perfect, like home from home.
    Although we were here for a sad occassion you have made our stay more bearable - thank you.

  • 6/6. Great value for money. Lovely people. No complications. It is what it says on the tin.

  • 10/10 Exceptional. + Everything. - Nothing.

  • 10/10 Exceptional. Everything I needed.

  • 10/10 Exceptional. Breakfast, how clean it was.

  • 8.8/10. Fabulous. I had a good experience at this B&B. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was of a very good quality. The location was excellent for the purpose of my visit. The room was cleaned every day which I thought was very good.

  • 10/10. Exceptional. Very pleasant b/b great food.

  • 4/5. Recent stay overall opinion. We came back from Annies yesterday after a pleasant three night stay my only bad point about Annies is we was on the top floor with mobility problems but this was our fault it wasn't mentioned on booking the room was small but very clean and well equipped even iron and small ironing board you could use fridge in dining room and microwave another nice thought and breakfast is freshly cooked to order and lovely it was too the bathroom was shared and on the middle landing but this wasn't too much of a problem I would stay there again but would need a room on a lower floor you were made to feel welcome but these people did not intrude into your holiday unless you wanted them to. Room Tip Just make your needs known on booking to make sure you get a good room.

  • 8.3/10. Very good. L'amabilite de la patronne. Le calme de la ville.

  • 9.6/10. Exceptional. Good location. Just 5 minutes from the sea front and the nearest bus stop. Secure key-less entry, handy for two of us not having to worry about getting locked out. Good tea and coffee facilities and a sink in the room. Excellent full English breakfast. The double room wasn't en-suite but the bathroom was just down the stairs. (A bit like being at home). Never even saw the people we were 'sharing' it with. (Remember to take a dressing gown).

  • 6/6. Great stay. Very clean and tidy friendly would stay again.

  • 6/6. Top floor hot days but top service as well. Staying here during recent heat wave, meant that the single rooms on top floor were extremely hot, but an open window did help during the two nights' stay. The cleanliness was absolutely top notch, better than some 5 Star hotels, food was good and plentiful and accommodations made for those who don't eat wheat. Bed was comfortable due to quality of mattress memory foam. The only down side was being on the 3rd floor and having to walk down two flights of very creaky stairs to use the toilet. Shower that was shared with 2 other rooms was excellent! The owners go out of their way to be very helpful when finding places to eat in the area. Friendly owners, couldn't ask for better!

  • Thank you card from a couple who stay with us annually for five nights in one of our en suite double bedrooms.

  • 6/6. Annies South Shields. Excellent guest house with friendly staff.

  • 5/6. Top class thanks.

  • 6/6. Annie's Guest House. This was a very pleasent stay, rooms were clean and all facilities advertised were present. Beds were made every day and vegetarian breakfast was served.

  • A good night's sleep! Thanks very much.

  • 5/6. Annies.

  • TripAdvisor Certificate Of Excellence 2013.

  • 5/5. I loved this place! I'm a vegetarian and it is truly the most difficult thing to deal with when traveling. Luckily, this adorable little bed and breakfast caters to vegetarians AND vegans, and I must admit, their food was absolutely delicious! Another thing I really enjoyed about this place was the fact that there were no hidden fees. Wifi was free, parking was free and public transportation was within walking distance. I was visiting my cousin who attends Newcastle Medical School and it was my first time in the UK. Due to my unforgettably stress-free stay, I'll definitely be visiting again.

  • Very pleasant. We were greeted in a friendly manner. Very clean, nice sunny room, short walk to beach. Our room did not have an ensuite but we were the only ones using the communal bathroom which was an outstanding standard. Our room was smallish in the attic, very comfortable with hand basin, tea coffee etc. very good value, and a very pleasant lady running it. Made us feel very much at home. 8.3/10

  • 6/6. Very friendly guest house. Clean. Comfortable accomodation. Friendly efficient staff. Food standard excellent and large portioned breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

  • This B&B was the cleanest I have ever stayed in I have stayed in all kinds of hotels and B&Bs they could teach some five stars a thing or two. Breakfast was excellent a large choice of cooked food beds really comfy keyless entry was great they also have a fridge and microwave for the customers use we had a a really nice time. 10/10

  • Thank you card from a couple who stayed four nights in one of our standard double bedrooms.

  • Nice place, good people. Will come back again.

  • Highly recommended. 6/6

  • Excellent and friendly service, beautifully kept rooms with kettles, irons etc. Very comfortable beds, TVs in the rooms, free wifi, no need to carry keys as doors were opened with codes, the shared bathroom was fantastic. Provided really nice, fluffy towels too. Easily one of the loveliest B&Bs I've stayed in for a long while. Extremely good value for money in my opinion too. 9.6/10

  • Great service, good location, parking close by. 9.2/10

  • 5/6. Friendly and clean. Very welcoming, provided vegan food. Accommodation very clean. Lovely big bath in separate bathroom.

  • 8.8/10

  • I enjoyed my stay at your guest house. The quad room is very clean and a lot nicer than I thought. I liked how you have iron/hair dryer etc in the room. The toilets and bathroom were very clean. I will definitely recommend and stay here again! Thanks. - Guest feedback after a four night stay in our standard quad room.

  • Super B&B. Stayed at Annies Guest House for the second time and once again was very happy. Comfortable room with flat screen tv and writing desk (important as I was on a training course). Breakfast is first class. Hope to return again, some time. 5/5

  • 5/6. Room. The stay was a great experience.

  • 6/6. Really good value for money. Friendly staff and lovely food.

  • 6/6. What a pleasure. Myself and family travelled 250 miles for a funeral. We had such a warm welcome, it lifted our spirits right away. The rooms were very comfortable, with coffee and tea available. Breakfast was superb, couldn't have asked for better.

  • 6/6. Single room bed and breakfast. Booked into this hotel for a few nights stay in early October 2012. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean, tidy and was the right size, not too large and not too small. It was large enough to move around in, with the bags. There were tea/coffee and even a small iron and ironing board in the wardrobe. Good choice of breakfast cereals were available along with a good quality English breakfast. This was cooked to order so the food was piping hot and you could have a choice as to what you had. Hotel was near enough to the town centre, bus station and the metro station for ease of access. All the amenities were about a 10 minute walk away. The sea front was even closer being within 5 minutes walk along with large open parks. All in all this was a very friendly well run hotel that will make for a nice pleasant stay.

  • 10/10

  • The rooms were kept spotlessly clean. There is a lovely big shower room if you don't have the en-suite. Just 5 minutes walk from the beach and 2 minutes from the local park, which boasts a lake with boats available and a miniature railway. Also ideally located for restaurants only 5 minutes walk away. The breakfast was excellent with a full choice of English breakfast, or cereals, juices toast and jams if you prefer. All the rooms have tea making facilities which were topped up everyday including biscuits. Anything else you needed you only had to ask. 9/10

  • Very friendly, clean and good value. 6/6

  • Great place. Close to town but far enough to be quiet. Blackout blinds were a godsend. Room was very clean, modern and great location. The breakfast was fantastic. Large, well cooked and served with a jolly smile. I'd definately use again. 6/6

  • The rooms were kept spotlessly clean. There is a lovely big shower room if you don't have the en-suite. Just 5 minutes walk from the beach and 2 minutes from the local park, which boasts a lake with boats available and a miniature railway. Also ideally located for restaurants only 5 minutes walk away. The breakfast was excellent with a full choice of english breakfast, or cereals, juices toast and jams if you prefer. All the rooms have tea making facilities which were topped up everyday including biscuits. Anything else you needed you only had to ask. 9/10

  • No room key was required or card, just a number to access the room. Plenty of coffee, tea and hot chocolate with a pack of ginger nut biscuits. The room even had a hair dryer and a cute little ironing board which hung in the wardrobe with an iron. The cooked breakfast was delicious with a good choice and there was also an excellent choice of preserves. The hotel owner was friendly and helpful. The room even though small had a comfortable bed, a flat screen TV and a sink and everything was nice and compact. The best thing of all it was great value for money and for all this I would recommend it. 9.2/10

  • Los baños estaban impecables, la habitacion aunque pequeña, estaba muy limpia. La atención fue excelente. 9.2/10

  • Very pleasant stay. Great breakfast. Thank you very much!

  • Very good. Thank you. Thanks to June.

  • Really good thank you.

  • Thanks for a very nice stay.

  • Excellent breakfast, good nights sleep. Great value for money.

  • Los baños estaban impecables, la habitacion aunque pequeña, estaba muy limpia. La atención fue excelente. 9.2/10

  • Close to beach and town and all attractions! Small and friendly. 8.8/10

  • Nice stay. Awesome breakfast.

  • 5/5. Nice quiet location good standard of accommodation. Room well maintained, included iron, ironing board, extra blankets, hairdryer, wooden coat hangers in wardrobe, 30ml toiletry bottles etc. Sea view was great. Very comfortable. Staff very good, friendly and keen to help with any requests.

  • Absolutely lovely time & experience. June & Linda were perfect to take care of all. Very comfortable stay. Cheers! - Feedback from a guest who stayed in one of our standard single bedrooms for three nights.

  • B&B very clean with friendly staff & lovely breakfast. Thanks for the stay. - Comments from guests who stayed for three nights in our standard twin bedroom.

  • Well what can be said. Excellent staff. Excellent accomodation. Altogether first class. And June every time English breakie. 10/10

    - Comments from a guest who stayed for eight nights in one of our standard single bedrooms.

  • Close to beach and town and all attractions! Small and friendly. 8.8/10

  • An excellent stay, very clean facilities, ample free parking directly opposite hotel. Bonus of free high speed internet. Good quality cooked breakfast in the am. 10/10

  • Excellent stay could not have asked for more staff tremendous. Thank you very much for having us. We will tell everyone to stay here we will be back again. - Comments from four guests who stayed for three nights in our standard quad room.

  • Thank you card from a guest who regularly stays with us in one of our en suite double bedrooms.

  • 5/5. Free secure bike parking was excellent. Room was a good size, very clean and the staff were friendly and welcoming, hotel fully met our needs providing good value for money.

  • We hope to see you again. - Thank you card from a family who stayed in an en suite double and an en suite triple bedroom for four nights.

  • We love staying here. - Comments from guests who regularly stay with us in one of our en suite triple bedrooms.

  • Recommended. When I checked in I asked to be given a room with a desk and a chair in it so I could do some work, my room had already been allocated because they were full but I was told that all rooms have a desk and chair which is good for a business traveller. Good fast and free wifi connection - was given the password during check-in, didn't have to ask for it. Ample free parking directly opposite hotel. 6/6

  • An excellent stay, very clean facilities, ample free parking directly opposite hotel. Bonus of free high speed internet. Good quality cooked breakfast in the am. 10/10

  • I liked the welcoming manner of the staff and also thought the breakfast was excellent. 10/10

  • Comments from guests who stayed two nights in our standard twin bedroom.

  • Thank you card from a guest who stayed in one of our standard single bedrooms for twelve weeks whilst studying at South Tyneside College.

  • 5/5. I had a good experience at this B&B. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was of a very good quality. The location was excellent for the purpose of my visit. The room was cleaned everyday which I thought was very good. No extra charge for paying by credit card./p>

  • Thank you card from a couple who stayed in one of our standard double bedrooms for three nights.

  • TripAdvisor Certificate Of Excellence 2012.

  • Very friendly, only draw back was the bathroom was not on the same floor as the bedroom we stayed in, apart from that everything was great. 6/6

  • Good. Very nice here and will be back again soon. 6/6

  • I liked the welcoming manner of the staff and also thought the breakfast was excellent. 10/10

  • Very friendly owners /staff good position for public transport, clean and warm rooms with tea making facilities, comfortable bed, the big surprise was you could choose your own breakfast, and you can also take in your own food to eat, there is a fridge and a microwave oven for guests to use (most unusual but welcome) I can recommend this guest house to anyone, and will stay here again. A big Thank you to Linda and her mother. 9.6/10

  • Dear Annie's Guest House. Thank you very much for your lovely hospitality and welcoming atmosphere. We have enjoyed our stays here immensely. We will be recommending you. Thanks again. PS The breakfasts are always delicious too. - Thank you card from guests who stayed in our standard twin bedroom for six nights.

  • 5/5. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. They gave us very good directions of local area and the buses we needed to catch and things like that. The atmosphere was very pleasant and a good hearty breakfast in the morning. Plus free parking and wifi.

  • Thank you card from a guest who stayed in one of our standard single bedrooms for ten nights.

  • Thank you for making us so welcome, nothing was too much trouble. If you are ever in the Millom area, come and visit two old "Millomites". Best regards. - Thank you card from a couple who stayed in one of our en suite double bedrooms for five nights.

  • Jewel in the Crown! What a smashing little find! We were going to a concert with a day or so off tagged on. Annie's was the best recommended in the area, so we went for it. Couldn't have been better. Spick and span, spotlessly clean. Enthusiastic and friendly welcome from Linda. I imagine that she can tell from the booking date and the ticket release dates why we were there - and she dispensed great advice about how best to travel. Saved us hours - we bumped into another couple the following day at TAOTN (The Angel of the North) who stayed elsewhere and did the Metro, it took them half the night to get back. It's also quiet. Very quiet. Pull down the blackout blind and you may just miss breakfast! South Shields itself offers a wide variety of evening food and entertainment, and again our host had all the details to hand. All within walking distance in a nice quiet part of town. Annie cooks a fine breakfast - one of the best. Scrambled egg is the acid test and she passes with flying colours. Just superb. I'd be surprised if I didn't stay again very shortly as I travel to that part of the country quite often. 6/6

  • Very friendly owners/staff good position for public transport, clean and warm rooms with tea making facilities, comfortable bed, the big surprise was you could choose your own breakfast, and you can also take in your own food to eat, there is a fridge and a microwave oven for guests to use (most unusual but welcome) I can recommend this guest house to anyone, and will stay here again. A big Thank you to Linda and her mother. 9.6/10

  • Alternative to faceless chain hotels. Working in the North East sometimes you just cant face another night in a faceless, soulless chain hotel. Thought I would look for a good B and B near the sea and booked on the strength of the previous reviews. Excellent customer service from the moment I arrived, nothing was too much trouble. The room and the facilities were great (free wi-fi a bonus) and the breakfast cooked to order was 1st class. Quick walk down to the front for an evening meal in the sunshine wrapped up a great evening. 6/6

  • Great Location for South Tyneside District Hospital. After gaining employment at STDH I was concerned at my travelling time from North Yorkshire. I looked into hospital accomodation but nothing was particularly useful to me... I googled Hospital Accomadation, South Shields and up sprung Annie's Guesthouse. Wow! What a gem! I have now stayed here on several occasions and each time I've been greeted like an old friend and made to feel welcome. I have stayed in a single, double and the family room (though only booked double!) and each and every room has been clean, tidy and contained everything you could require for an overnight stay. I will admit that I prefer the single rooms for their cosiness. Staying away from home along can be lonely and the family room was huge for just me. Linda is very friendly and super efficient checking you in and sorting out room codes even for late check-ins as hospital shifts can be a little unreliable for getting off at time. Well, I needn't have worried. Everything was sorted for me and I was able to arrive without problem. My room was cleaned whilst I was at work every day and all the facilities replenished. The breakfast is good June is evidently very experienced in providing this service as I have received whatever I have ordered within about 10 minutes of arriving downstairs. Not only this, but the website advertises breakfast from 7.30 June has happily facilitated an earlier breakfast in view of hospital shifts and I have not been limited in what I can order due to the early arrival. Breakfast is tasty. Cereal and juice followed by cooked breakfast. You eat your cereal whilst June cooks breakfast. Obviously if you choose not to have cereal then you can sit and drink your tea watching TV waiting for your breakfast. Checking out is no bother. They take cards or cash and you can sort it out over breakfast and I've never been left waiting around to pay whilst June is busy. I will definitely be staying there again I've already booked for my next 2-3 weeks of shifts! Room Tip: Rooms are allocated for you. 5/5

  • 9.2/10

  • Excellent value and service at Annie's. Very well located, Annie's offers excellent value, good rooms and food with free internet access. You can use fridge, microwave, plates and cutlery making it so much more homely than a hotel stay. Black out blinds assist a good night's sleep. Don't think you can do much better. 5/6

  • 5/5. Excellent Bed and Breakfast. Wanted a bed for the night and a good breakfast for me and my teenage son who were staying over after going to the match in Newcastle. We got everything we needed and more. A large comfortable ensuite room with double and single bed, large flat screen TV, free wi-fi and tea and coffee facilities and we could park right outside free of charge. The property was in a quiet road but close to the town centre and I had a peaceful night's sleep which is more than can be said for my son (due to my snoring apparently!!) Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious and we could even watch Match of the Day while we enjoyed it. We received a warm welcome from everyone we met and would have no hesitation recommending Annies to anyone visiting the area. Great value for money.

  • The room was spotless and comfortable and the guest house was in a good location and was good value. Also the breakfast was spot and and set us up for the day. Would stay there again. 10/10

  • Thank you card from guests who stayed four nights in one of our en suite double bedrooms.

  • Thank you card from guests who stayed five nights in one of our en suite twin bedrooms.

  • 5/5. The place was very clean, and had a great solid wood bed, large flat screen tv and plenty of tea and coffee in the room. It was also remarkably cheap accommodation for the quality of it.

  • Thank you for a very comfortable stay with our best regards. - Thank you card from guests who stayed seven nights in one of our standard double bedrooms.

  • The room was spotless and comfortable and the guest house was in a good location and was good value. Also the breakfast was spot and and set us up for the day. Would stay there again. 10/10

  • 5/5. Great budget guest house. Myself and my partner stayed the night in this guest house. We had been travelling all night from Norfolk so all we wanted to do was go to sleep so when arriving at Annies they made our room up and let us in straight away. When we got in the room it was lovely and basic and very clean. They even gave us the family room even thou there was two of us! The owners made us feel very welcome and because we was on a quiet road we had a very good nights sleep! The best bit of the stay was the breakfast! If I was ever to go back to South Shields then I would stay here again!

  • 4/5. Great Digs.... Stayed in Annie's for nearly five weeks whilst studying at South Tyneside College as the Halls of Residence was full of Cadets! :-( During this time I couldn't fault it. My room was cleaned every day, the shared bathroom and toilets were in great condition and when I had time to eat breakfast it was excellent. It was possible to get a weeks laundry done on the same day for about £5 or £6 which was one less thing I had to worry about while I was at the college. My wife joined me at various times during my studies and Linda was very helpful at letting me chop and change rooms to accommodate this. My only complaint would be noise as it was a terraced property but so is nearly every other guest house in Shields and it was certainly a lot less hectic than some of the other places on Ocean Road, which can be a bit loud on the weekends (though it a great place for a curry!) On the whole though Annie's was exactly what I needed for my time in Shields and would definitely stay again if I return to the town in the future.

  • 5/5. One of the very best. Stayed for one night, the room was superb, very comfortable, everything you needed was available. The breakfast was first class, would definately go again.

  • Great value. Lots of extras to make the stay enjoyable - black out blinds, use of a fridge and microwave, lots of advice on the area and where things were, no set times for coming and going. An excellent stay. 6/6

  • Great Comfortable Guest House. I have stayed at Annies Guest House before, it is a great location, easy to get parked outside, the place is clean and tidy, the food is great and Annie and her daughter are most welcoming. I will be staying here again whenever possible. It does get booked up quickly so book in advance. 5/6

  • 5/5. A little gem. We were made welcome by the owners, who were could not be more helpful, North East people are really the salt of the Earth, a very enjoyable three night stay.

  • Very good value for money excellent one-night stay. We just wanted somewhere cheap for one night. We were very surprised at how great this place was. 5/6

  • Review Annies Guest House. Very pleasant stay room perfect for single traveller. Only improvement would be en-suite. 6/6

  • 5/5. Comfortable, good location, good price! I stayed here for two nights, 29-31 May 2011, in a single room. Upon arrival, my friend and I were checked in by Linda who was very informative about local transport, as my friend and I were in the area to attend a concert in Sunderland. My single room was very comfy... a nice comfy bed (memory foam mattress), with heating, a flatscreen tv with plenty of channels, own kettle and hairdryer, black out blind at the window, tea and coffee supplies (even though I don't drink tea and coffee) and a basin. There is a shared bathroom which consists of a bath and separate shower in the access, and you are given a password upon check-in. A big thank you to Linda for all of her help and information! If I was to be in the area again, then I would return to Annie's Guest House (subject to availability). Room Tip Book directly with their website.

  • TripAdvisor Certificate Of Excellence 2011.

  • Very friendly. This place was lovely. The owner's daughter who greeted me was really helpful, telling me all about the local area and generally making me feel welcome. The bathroom was fantastic, especially given the price. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. They cooked me a special breakfast as I am vegan, which I thought was really nice of them given that I hadn't given advance notice. Can't recommend this place enough and would definately stay there again. 6/6

  • 5/5. Excellent hospitality, made welcome by June and Linda, every needs met. We was made very welcome on arrival. Linda showed us to our room, and gave us a map of the town, detailing the shops, eateries and directions very clearly. The room was very clean and the food was excellent.. we will definately be returning.

  • Quality B and B. Enjoyable stay and very comfortable room with a proper cooked breakfast in the morning with good customer services throughout my stay. 5/6

  • A warming experience. I was so pleased to have booked my stay at Annie's Guest House. I was meeting my partner in South Shields, and also her son for the very first time. I found the welcome very informative and thorough, the room was nicely decorated and furnished, I could not have asked for more. The breakfast was was wonderful, comfortable surroundings and was made to feel at home. I would have no hesitation in staying at Annie's again, and I plan to do so very soon. 6/6

  • Weekend away. A very homely friendly guest house. Felt welcome and very well fed. Felt we were set up for the day. 6/6

  • 5/5. Great Value Accommodation. We stopped at Annies for a long week-end recently and were very impressed. It was very easy to find, and parking was always available directly outside. Nicely situated for the local amenities, and perfect as a base for sight seeing in the North East. The welcome was very friendly and helpful, accommadation was lovely and clean, and very well kept. Breakfast was spot on. Excellent value for money.

  • 5/5. Wonderful landlord. Hi. My good impression of this guest-house started when we met the young and lovely lady landlord. So chatty and friendly, I already realized I made the right choice of the accommodation. I was nicely surprised to find out there was a free wifi internet in the house, the food very tasty and the landlords absolutely helpful, making the stay awesome. Actually I chose this place as a close and quite destination to visit Newcastle. It takes only 15 minutes by the subway to get to the centre of Newcastle. Make sure to take coins with you when planning on buying a subway ticket as you are going to buy from the machine that accepts only coins. I would totally recommend this place.

  • 5/5. Very Clean Bed and Breakfast. I stayed one night in Annies Guest House in a small single room. It was spotless, so very clean. It was also very modern furniture. It had a coffee and tea tray, hairdryer, free wi-fi access, good flat-screen digital Freeview TV, and use of fridge and microwave. It was so comfortable and pleasant to be in. The bed was very comfortable too. I was warmly greeted by the daughter of the proprieter who introduced me to everything and reassured me that I could contact her for anything, so I felt very looked after. The breakfast was fantastic, freshly done and the best fried breakfast I have had for a while. They were were very generous in their portions. This is a very good Guest House and well worth the price. I highly recommend it.

  • 5/5. Excellent value cosy little place handy for the beach, town and Metro. Very friendly, excellent local knowledge. Excellent value little place handy for the beach, town and Metro. Very friendly, excellent local knowledge. Rooms aren't huge, but it's very clean, comfortable and cosy. A real antidote to slummy B&Bs or bland hotel chains.

  • 5/5. A quality establishment. Very clean B&B. Excellent breakfast individually cooked to choice. Spacious bedroom. Good quality fixtures and fittings. Welcoming staff.

  • Second time here, looking forward to breakfast :-))) I will be back next month !!!!!

  • 5/5. An excellent accommodation 10/10. A very good standard accommodation in a quiet location for low price. My room was cleaned everyday during my eight night visit to North Eastern England. Tea/coffee restocked daily. Breakfasts were superb. Internet (wireless) and parking were both free. Has satellite television channels also. Train station around 5 minutes walk to the west for reaching Newcastle central. Definitely one to come back to and I would recommend to others also.

  • 4/5. Short Break. Great Value Bed and Breakfast. Room had double and two full size single beds, lot of other places use put up beds, or sofa bed. Breakfast was exceptional value for money. Yes with this room we had to share toilet & bathroom on a diffrent level but for what it cost us it was worth it. They do also have ensuite rooms. Good Metro service close by. Very friendly and helpful. Would recomend this place to any one wanting great basic accommodation, which provides a fabulous breakfast included in the price. Even had a flat screen TV lots of other places I've been have had poxie Portable TV with only tea and coffee they provided hot chocalate too.

  • 4/5. Friendly. The welcome was friendly and I was provided with a map of the area and an explanation of where things were. I had a single non-en-suite room, which was small, but comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and was cooked to order, from a good breakfast menu. This guest house is within walking distance of the beach and the Tyne and Wear Metro, giving easy links to Newcastle and Sunderland. It's also just one street away from the most Indian take-away's I have seen in one street, so if you like Indian food, this is a good place to go! Overall, I was very happy with my stay. This was good value for money and would hapilly stay again.

  • 5/5. One of the best guest houses / hotels we have stayed in. Everyone was really friendly. The room was spacious and comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were excellent - lots of each and biscuits as well. This is the first time in the 18 years my wife and I have been together that we have stayed somewhere and she's had absolutely nothing to complain about. My only comment is that the shower was very small and cramped, but it didn't affect my opinion of our visit in general. A very pleasant stay. We will come back and also recommend you to friends and family.

  • Excellent. I have stayed at this bnb twice now, both rooms that I have stayed in (sorry I can't remember the numbers) were very good - both were clean and had comfortable beds. Free internet is excellent for business travellers (like me). Takes credit cards for payment without charging any extra % and it's free to park outside as well. Bargain price for what you get and the quality of the room. I would recommend it to others.

  • Thank you so much for making me so welcome during my stay from October 15-20. I enjoyed being at the top of the house and although small, my roomcontained all I needed. You had thought of absolutely every little detail. I will certainly plan to stay with you next time I am in Shields. Thanks again! - Thank you card from a guest who stayed five nights in one of our standard single bedrooms.

  • 5/5. Very clean rooms, close to shops. I am originally from South Shields and I returned 'home' last month with my wife and two children for an 80th birthday celebration and we picked Annies Guesthouse because of it's close proximity to the venue. We literally had to turn right at the gate and walk down the street and the hotel where the party was at was right in front of us so there was no need to get a taxi back and we saved money on the rooms as well (the hotel concerned wanted exactly twice as much for two rooms). This guest house was a good choice for us, no hassle, we didn't even have to ask for front door key to come back whenever we wanted because we got given one outright. Both the rooms that we had were clean with good beds and good showers. As for the location if you walk along the street and turn right that is where the shopping area starts including all the usual things like cashpoints, post office etc. just behind this is a 24-hour ASDA so if you arrive too late for the restaurants to serve you (like we did!) you can get some food in there. We would stay here again because it was easy to find, the price was fair and because the kids wanted somewhere with wifi.

  • 5/5. Wonderful welcome and comfortable stay. What a wonderful guest house! My partner was in the area on business for a week and I came to join him for the weekend. Even though this was arranged on short notice they could not have been more accommodating. I arrived after a long drive about 9pm and they welcomed me in and made me feel very comfortable. The room was well sized and well equipped with a large TV, desk and tea/coffee making facilities. We had an en-suite which was very clean and nicely decorated. The shower was on the small size, but given how it had been added into the room, it was OK. The shower was powerful and nice and hot. Breakfast was cooked to order and very tasty! Only a few minutes walk from a lovely beach and gardens, and 5 minute walk from a high street with the most Indian restaurants I have seen on one street. We drove and was an easy drive to Newcastle City centre. Overall a lovely stay and we'd like to give a big, big thank you to the owners.

  • 4/5. If only all guest houses were like this. Quite simply this guest house was just as all the other reviews stated and that's why we chose to stay there. Previously we stayed in a hotel in Jesmond - a very average hotel but when we decide to return to the Newcastle area there was no choice. I remembered the previous reviews and simply searched out Annies Guest House and booked it. We got 'exactly what it said on the can'. A friendly welcome to a spotlessly clean, family run guest house. A large room and ensuite. Adequate parking close by and good personal information about the local area. It is situated within easy walking distance of both town centre and beach. I raised a concern about a fitting in the ensuite - it was fixed within a day. There is no doubt my wife and I would stay here again. Finally - a breakfast second to none. If you stay here - beware - after this, everything else may feel like second best..

  • Thank you so much for making my stay such a comfortable one last weekend.

    - A thank you card we received in the post from a guest who stayed for eight nights in one of our standard single bedrooms.

  • 5/5. Perfect place. Perfect stay wish I could have stayed longer I will be doing next time. Very friendly hosts it was the first time I have stayed in South Shields and I was given a very useful map. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was lovely.

  • 5/5. Thank you for the welcome! We stayed at Annie's Guest House in July this year. We just wanted to say a very big thank you firstly for Linda staying up until almost one o'clock in the morning to let us in and to June for making us such a nice breakfast. We enjoyed our time in your relaxed and friendly bed and breakfast and would recommend it to any of our friends.

  • 5/5. Very nice accommodation, well maintained, clean, friendly. Really enjoyed our stay at Annies, staff were friendly, helpful, room was clean and up to date. Lovely place too, walking distance to beach.

  • Very good. Everything was at our satisfaction. Up to the standard. A family atmosphere prevails. Will definitely recommend this place to other people. No real bad points on the overall. 9/10

  • 5/5. Clean and friendly. Stayed for 10 nights in South Shields at Annie's Guest House while on a business course. I found it to be clean and comfortable and was made to feel welcome. The breakfasts are superb, I had to go on a diet when I got back home.

  • You couldn't want for a more friendly place to stay and you get a proper cup of tea too.

  • 4/5. A great place to stay. We had a good time at Annie's Guest House. Position good - near the sea. Good for parking - no charges. Price very reasonable. Linda and June were very friendly - could not do enough for us. Room good - small en-suite but adequate. Another toilet and bath along the hall. Breakfast was very good. Our daughter is wheat and gluten intolerant and Linda and June provided gluten free sausages and gluten free bread for her toast. I cannot praise Annie's enough. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Me and the girls had a fab time on our visit to Shields from Swindon... Great breakie!! Lovely place... Thanks again!

  • This place is really nice only 20 mins from me. And would highly recommemd it rooms lovely. x

  • Stopped here a few weeks ago. Excellent room and delicious breakfast! Highly recommended :)

  • Hi I pass one night in this guest house on December 2008. It was wonderful, really. Hope to visit you again.

  • 4/5. Value for money. This bed & breakfast has friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and high speed wi fi access. Cooked English breakfast made to order with consideration to special dietary requirement if needed e.g. vegeterian soya milk etc reflects very good service. I will recommend it.

  • 4/5. Overall, met the requirements of our trip perfectly. Ideally situated between the shopping precinct and the beach. Comfortable and quiet with lively nightlife a short walk away. Easy on-street parking opposite. Friendly and helpfull staff supplied a freshly cooked traditional English breakfast. Will use again if the opportunity arises. John (Mature Couple)

  • 5/5. A Lovely Place to Stay. I stayed for a two week period, purely to study for exams at Sunderland University. I needed peace and quiet for this & they didn't mind me kicking around in my room all day revising. I understand that the walls between rooms were sound proofed & I was never disturbed at all. This is a horrible time of year for me & their very friendly attitude made me feel very welcome, which helped me through this tough time. I also recieved a good deal on the room, an excellent English breakfast, and overall they went out of their way to help me wherever they could. I also met many other friendly people at breakfast, who were equally impressed. At the end of my exams I felt like one of the family, I didn't want to leave! South Shield is a great place as well, lovely sandy beaches, parks and cliff top walks, and endless pubs and restaurants, I shall return with my family for a holiday.

  • 5/5. Lovely and welcoming seaside guesthouse. Stayed in a double room without ensuite at the guesthouse with a traveling companion at Easter, and it was a welcoming and comfortable stay. Rooms are clean and just enough room to have a relax after walking around all day - there's tea and coffee making facilities and television as well. We even had a bit of a view of the sea from the top floor. If you ask, there's also decent wifi. It's a short walk to the main center of South Shields and the Metro to Newcastle, and not far from the seaside, river and sights like the roman fort. The hosts were friendly and welcoming and did a fantastic job of providing breakfast for me on a vegan diet - very understanding and provided a good range of stuff so I was even able to have a hot breakfast and soy milk for tea! Just what I needed. Loved the sea/ocean themed movie posters hung up around the place too!

  • Great choice for breakfast... Thanks a lot. 83%

  • Highly recommended. 10/10

  • Excellent family-friendly bed and breakfast. We have just returned home from a five day bank holiday break at this hotel and we thought it was just fantastic. We had a two rooms, one double for myself and my husband and one triple room for our two daughters (age 10 and 13) and my mother-in-law who joined us on our holiday visit to the North East of England. Both rooms were spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated, both had Free View channels on the televisions, lovely towels and our showers were always hot and powerful (we always worry that we'll get the dreaded drip-drip-drip shower!) Breakfasts were great too - vegetarian option for our daughters and a choice of herbal teas for me. All in all we had a lovely break and this hotel couldn't receive higher praise from us - we hope to be back up north at Christmas and we will definitely stay here again! 5/5

  • Great. Very good, very nice place to stay. 9/10

  • Relaxed atmosphere, keen willingness to help on info. ref. the town and directions and facilities. Went out of way to provide suitable phone charger. 6.5/10

  • Loved it. Will use the B&B again, you couldn't ask for more for the money. I would like to comment on how friendly the staff were, seemed very genuine and most pleasant. Cracking breakfast. Very clean rooms, clean each day... very impressed. If I had to nit pick it would have to be that the mattress and pillows were too soft, but that personal preference. 10/10

  • Clean excellent breakfast, sea view out of room window. 10/10

  • Great B&B. My wife and I stayed in an en-suite triple room for on enight when visiting friends and family. Very clean throughout and friendly owners. Excellent breakfast and service. Mattress was a tad thin for my liking but still comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate to return. 4/5

  • Quiet. Very friendly staff. Vegetarian option for breakfast. Clean. 10/10

  • Would certainly book here again if/when back in the area. Thought it was excellent value for money. 10/10

  • This was a nice place, the room was clean and we both had a good nights sleep. 5/5

  • Very clean, staff very friendly. 9.5/10

  • Very good value for your money. I recently stayed at this place for a combined work trip and reunion with some old friends. this is a very nice clean place. The bed in the room had a good quality mattress and there were some other nice touches as well like the hot chocolate, fridge and roller blinds between the curtains and the windows to keep the sun out, as a light sleeper I appreciated this more than most I expect! I was concerned about finding somewhere that would be quiet at night as South Shields has a reputation for being lively at night but thankfully this place is a few streets to the south of all the excitement so I was not disturbed. So perhaps more suited to families and us poor souls who stay away from home during the week for work rather than those heading for the pubs and clubs of South Shields - you'd have a few streets to negotiate through to find your bed afterwards and admittedly there are places much closer to the 'action' than here if that is to be the purpose of your visit. At breakfast there was lots of choice and it was freshly made. Aside from the pubs and clubs it is central for everything else you'd want - restaurants, the supermarket, shopping zone, the main in/out roads to South Shields and of course the Metro train line to Newcastle upon Tyne city centre and the airport. I will come back and stay here when next up in South Shields as I felt it was very good value for money. Liked - Quiet yet central location. Disliked - Can't think of anything. 5/5

  • The early breakfast as can leave for work earlier, friendly and easy parking. 95%

  • Made to feel welcomed, very friendly, couldn't do enough to make our stay happy. 98%

  • 4.6/5

  • Very friendly hosts. Clean comfortable room with a good shower. Breakfast cooked to order. I shall certainly try and stay here again when I'm in the area. 6/6

  • Friendly warm atmosphere. 10/10

  • The location was perfect and the service was excellent. We are very satisfied with the stay. 6/6

  • Good location, good for cyclists. We stayed here with our bikes during a cycling holiday because they have secure & dry cycle parking and an outside tap to wash our gear off. Good location. Rooms were clean and very nice, had hot chocolate to drink! We liked being given a map of the area and attractions after I asked the owner for directions. It's close to town, a few minutes down the road and the parks are a shorter walk in another direction. Outside seating for smokers (as it's non smoking inside) and the breakfast was good. Our room used a shared bathroom and separate toilets which were very clean and looked quite new. We had wanted an ensuite but they were already gone when I booked but we had no complaints about the shared facilities. And unlike the previous girl we liked watching the news in the dining room at breakfast, eating in silence wouldn't have been very nice! Overall we couldn't have been happier and we would definitely recommend this guest house. Thumbs up from two happy cyclists! Liked provision for cyclists, breakfast was freshly made, being given the area map. Disliked that we only stayed two nights! Can't think of any negatives. 5/5

  • Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. 10/10

  • 10/10

  • Good breakfast, clean & tidy.

    - Guest feedback after a four night stay in one of our standard single bedrooms.

  • This is not a luxury hotel but a straight forward B&B by the sea. It is clean, comfortable, quiet and run by friendly helpful people who know how to cook and English breakfast. (The last place I stayed at didn't!) If in the area again I would not waste time and effort looking for somewhere else. 9/10

  • 4/5. Good value guest house. Nice friendly welcome. Offer of a wake-up call. V clean room. Lovely big bath towel. Lots of tea and coffee. Quiet street. No problem parking. V good breakfast. Anna, Fife. Liked — Quiet street with no problem parking, warm welcome, v clean room, plenty of tea and coffee, nice big bath towel, v good breakfast.

  • The hotel was very clean food was good nice place. 6/6

  • Good b&b. 5/5

  • Easily found, friendly staff, great breakfast. Although we only stayed one night the hotel suited us as a base and I would book the same place at a future date. 4.6/5

  • 5/5. I had the chance to spend a few nights at this guesthouse and I must say the feeling is very positive at Annie's guesthouse. The atmosphere is pleasant and the smiles from the staff is cheering. It is an excellent place to stay and am looking forward to another stay at Annie's guesthouse.

  • Great welcome & very helpful. Nice room with all facilities we needed. Thank you.

    - Guest feedback from a couple who stayed in our of our en-suite twin bedrooms for four nights.

  • 5/5. Guest house was very nice, their staff are very friendly and helpful. Very clean atmosphere. Will come back and highly recommendable. Thanks!

  • Many thanks for all your kindness, hospitality and lovely breakfasts received during my stay. - A thank you card from a guest who has been staying with us regularly since 2006.

  • Although we only stayed one night, the hotel suited us as a base and I would book the same place at a future date. Easily found, friendly staff, great breakfast. 9/10

  • The friendliness of the staff who couldn't have been more helpful. Communication from hotel was excellent. 10/10

  • Very nice room. Good location, nice people, room was very clean, great breakfast. Will definitely say again. 5/5

  • Nice place, good people. Will come back again.

  • This was a nice place, the room was clean and we both had a good nights sleep. Very good breakfast and no problems with parking either. I've stayed at other places nearby and had to park a few streets away because of all the sea front visitors taking up the streets with cars so this b&b was much better. Will definitely come back. Nice rooms.

  • 9.2/10

  • Good location, nice people, room was very clean, great breakfast. Will definitely say again. Very nice room. 10/10

  • I had a nice room and a very good breakfast. It was free to park outside and the wireless internet was very useful. I will definitely book here again. Nice and quiet, got a good nights sleep. 10/10

  • Thank you so much. Will definitely recommend you. - Thank you card from a guest who stayed with us in one of our standard single bedrooms for eight weeks whilst working in the North East.

  • 4/5. A stage of my cycling tour through England, South Shields surpised me with its Ocean Road (which actually leads to the Sea!), its wealth of restaurants, and its night life at King's Street. And with the great service at Annie's, where fast talking Linda tested my English and helped me cleaning the last traces of mud on my bike from the days before. Johan van der Kruk, Germany

  • Thank you for all.
    - Thank you card from a guest who stayed five nights in one of our standard single rooms.

  • Great service, good location, parking close by. 9.2/10

  • Thanks for taking care of everything for my wife and I over the past few weeks!

    - Thank you card from a couple who stayed in one of our double en-suite bedrooms for three weeks.

  • Nice and quiet, got a good nights sleep. I had a nice room and a very good breakfast. It was free to park outside and the wireless internet was very useful. I will definitely book here again. 5/5

  • I had a nice room, comfy bed, nice and quiet. Very good breakfast. Liked the free parking. I will definitely stay there again. 6/6

  • Favourite place to stay in the North East. I have stayed at Annie's about six times now and I always stay here when I'm up in the NE for work so I can have my cooked breakfast at 630 in the morning for my early starts for work! The internet is free here (and there aren't any internet cafes in SS) and I can park outside with no hassle. Most of the other places I've stayed in SS have been noisy at night because they're right opposite the pubs and clubs and curry houses but this b&b is on a residential street so you don't have to year the people coming out of the pubs and clubs and making a noise - a massive bonus! 5/5

  • The provision of wi-fi internet was really useful and I received much-needed assistance from the staff in configuring my laptop. Very small but adequate single room, but no complaints given the price. Excellent breakfast. 5/6

  • I had a great time at Annie's Guest House! Everybody is very friendly and I felt very comfortable here. I can definitely recommend it!

  • Thank you very much for a wonderful weekend. Home from home accommodation which made me feel safe, relaxed and personal. Would definitely stay again if I was in the area.

  • I had a very comfortable stay and would definitely stay here again, it was very friendly. The room was nice and clean and breakfast was very tasty. They have free WiFi and there was no charge for using my credit card either. I would recommend this B&B. 6/6

  • 6/6